top of page
pretty world
released August 2007

Thanks to all the artists and listeners who make this possible

For my family and friends.  These days, how beautiful...


The Band

Sam Baker - voice, acoustic guitar, harmonica

Mike Daly - pedal steel guitar, slide guitar

Ron de la Vega - upright bass, cello

Mickey Grimm - drums, percussion

Tim Lorsch - octave violin, violin, mandolin

Rick Plant - electric guitar

Walt Wilkins - acoustic guitar, voice


Guest Artists

Chris Baker-Davies - voice on Odessa

Joel Guzman - accordion on Juarez

Lloyd Maines - dobro, pedal steel on Slots and Odessa

Bill McDermott - pump organ, electric guitar on Slots and Psychic

Fats Kaplan - accordion on Pretty World, Sweetly Undone and Days

Gurf Morlix - voice, electric guitar on Juarez and Broken Fingers

Davis Raines - voice on Slots

Marcia Ramirez - voice on Orphan and Pretty World

Britt Savage - voice on Slots


Recorded June through December 2006

Dog Den Studio

Nashville, Tennessee

Engineer - Bill McDermott

Additional recording at Bismeaux Studio

Austin, Texas

Engineer - Chris "The Fire" Burns

Final Mix - Bill McDermott

Photography - Sam Baker (Pretty World), R. Mayes (back cover)

Mastering - Jerry Tubb Terra Nova Digital Audio Inc. Austin Texas

Spanish Editing - Ramon Rodriguez


For Janie and Ollie.


All songs by Sam Baker (BlueLimeStone Publishing copyright 2007 SESAC)

except: Swing Low Sweet Chariot (Traditional); Jacobs Ladder (Traditional); Hard Times Come Again No More    (Stephen Collins Foster  July 4, 1826 – January 13, 1864)

Walt Wilkins appears courtesy of Highway 29 Records.

© ℗ 2007 by Sam Baker

All rights reserved

Published by Blue Limestone Publishing (SESAC)

A BlueLimeStone Release

bottom of page